Columbia Law School

TO: Columbia Law School Community

SUBJECT: 2022-23 Academic Prizes for Graduating and Upper-Year Continuing Students

DATE: May 22, 2023

PRIZES AWARDED TO 2023 GRADUATES AND UPPER-YEAR CONTINUING STUDENTS

John Ordronaux Prize, awarded annually to the J.D. degree candidate for general proficiency in legal study. The prize usually recognizes the student achieving the highest academic average in each graduating class:

Stijn Talloen '23

Walter Gellhorn Prize, awarded annually to an LL.M. degree candidate graduating with the highest academic average, for outstanding proficiency in legal study:

Alexander Painsi LLM '23

Ruth Bader Ginsburg Prize, awarded annually to J.D. degree candidates who earned James Kent academic honors for outstanding academic achievement for all three years (1L, 2L, and 3L years):

David Akst '23 Michael Anfang '23 Joshua Berlowitz '23 **Emily Berman '23** Harish Sai Bhaskar '23 William Brown '23 Paul DaSilva '23 Lauren Goff'23 Alexander Herkert '23 Noah Klein '23 **Tanner Larkin '23** Eileen Li'23 **Rvan Mainous '23** Laura McFeely '23 Aaron Milevsky '23 Andrew Nassar '23 Jane Park '23 **Ruth Schapiro '23** Emma Shumway'23 **Deborah Sparks '23** Stijn Talloen '23 Peter Luke Urbanczyk '23 **David M. Berger Memorial Prize**, given to third-year students interested in international law and world peace, and who have demonstrated educational excellence in the field of international law:

E. Christina Schiciano '23

Campbell Prize, presented by the Columbia Alumni Association to a graduating student at each School who shows exceptional leadership and Columbia spirit.

Olivia Martinez '23

Milton B. Conford Book Prize in Jurisprudence, awarded annually to the student who writes the best examination paper or essay on jurisprudence:

Julia Fay '24

E.B. Convers Prize, awarded annually to the member of the graduating class who wrote the best original essay on a legal subject:

Eileen Li '23

Wilfred Feinberg Prize, awarded to the Law student who does the best work in an area related to the work of the federal courts:

Isabel Alexiades '23

Alfred S. Forsyth Prize, awarded annually to outstanding students in the field of environmental law who, in the judgment of the School, has demonstrated qualities of intellect and selfless dedication to the advancement of environmental law:

Emma Shumway '23 Katherine Wilkin '23

Andrew D. Fried Memorial Prize, awarded annually for the best student essay on a subject in the field of intellectual property and related law published in the Columbia Journal of Law and the Arts during the preceding year:

Adam Vischio '23

Lawrence S. Greenbaum Prize, awarded annually to the student who, in the opinion of the judges, has made the best oral presentation in the final argument of the Harlan Fiske Stone Moot Court Competition:

Alexander Herkert '23

Carroll G. Harper Prize, awarded to one or more members of the graduating class who have attained the highest standards of achievement in intellectual property studies and writing:

Joshua Berlowitz '23 Ethan Kovar '23

Pauline Berman Heller Prize, awarded annually to the graduating student who has displayed the most outstanding record of academic achievement in the service of gender equality in law, business, or society, as expressed through his or her classroom performance, scholarly research, or other relevant activities:

Fatima Hasanain '23

Carol B. Liebman Mediation Prize, awarded annually to one or more graduating students displaying excellence in and commitment to the field of conflict resolution, as demonstrated through outstanding achievement in coursework, fieldwork, or in service to the community:

Brenton Browne '23 Sophia Han '23 Skye Lee '23 Jerelyn Luther '23 Sasha Yusuf '23

Allan Morrow Sexuality and Gender Law Prize, awarded upon graduation from the Law School to one or more students who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the furtherance of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender rights.

Alyssa Curcio '23 Erin McKissick '23 Alexandra Meek '23

Jane Marks Murphy Prize, awarded annually to the students who display exceptional interest and proficiency in clinical offerings, and who give promise of a professional career, applying the highest standards of the lawyer's craft to service of the public interest:

Julianna Simms '23

Outstanding Student Award, presented by the Clinical Legal Education Association to a student nominated by the faculty of Columbia Law School for excellence in clinical fieldwork based on the high quality of representation provided clients and for outstanding participation in an accompanying clinical seminar as determined by exemplary thoughtfulness and self-reflectiveness in exploring pertinent legal and lawyering issues:

Emma Alzner '24 Haylee Bunner '23

Edwin Parker Prize, awarded to students who excelled in the study of international or comparative law, as nominated by members of the faculty and selected by the Columbia Law School professor who is director of the Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law:

Molly Bodurtha '23 Alexander Herkert '23

The Michael D. Remer Memorial Award, awarded annually and presented by the Kernochan Center to a graduating student whose activities and academic achievements demonstrate an interest in and aptitude for the fields of arts and copyright law:

Eliza Holland '23

Samuel I. Rosenman Prize, awarded to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence in public law courses and outstanding qualities and leadership in the Law School, or activities related to the Law School in the University community:

Andrew Nassar '23

Emil Schlesinger Labor Law Prize. Established in 1975 by the Schlesinger family, in honor of Emil Schlesinger '24. Awarded annually to the student most proficient in the subject of labor law.

Christopher Alter '23

Whitney North Seymour Medal, awarded annually to one or more students who, in the judgment of the instructors in trial advocacy, show the greatest promise of becoming distinguished trial advocates:

Amelia Birnie LLM '23 Paul DaSilva '23 Elias Passas '24

Valentin J.T. Wertheimer Prize in Labor Law, awarded annually to a Law School student whose work demonstrates the most creative, thoughtful approach to labor law, equal employment law, public or private sector collective bargaining, labor conflict resolution, or employment security:

Fatima Hasanain '23 Farida Hassan '23

Jeffrey Williams Memorial Prize for Critical Rights Analysis. Established in 2007 in Memory of Jeffrey Williams (2002 College, 2005 Law). Awarded annually to the student who writes the best paper in critical theory.

Zachary Kayal '24

Race and Law Prize. Established in 2021 and awarded to the student who writes the best paper on race and the law.

Tolulope Sogade '23

END OF PRIZE LIST FOR 2023 GRADUATES AND UPPER-YEAR CONTINUING STUDENTS